January 17th, 2012
03:40 PM ET

Step into Bjarke Ingels' world of architecture

By The Next List staff, CNN

(CNN) - This week on "The Next List" we're featuring a rising star in the world of architecture – Bjarke Ingels.  His bold, innovative ideas are pushing the boundaries of design around the globe – from his native Denmark to Asia and now the Manhattan skyline and beyond.

For Ingels, architecture is the marriage of a fantastic, utopian vision with a detailed approach to design.He's not just dreaming up pie-in-the-sky projects. He's building them.

To Ingels, though, what's most important is to work from the heart. Architecture is not about building monuments but contributing to society and creating possibilities for human life, he says.

Tune to CNN Sunday at 2 p.m. ET to see the full profile of Bjarke Ingels.

Please Follow us, Like us, and check out out our photos!

Post by:
Filed under: Art • Social change • The Next List
soundoff (26 Responses)
  1. Btf review forum

    Wow, marvelous blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?
    you made blogging look easy. The whole glance of your website is excellent, let alone the content!

    July 12, 2014 at 12:51 am | Reply
  2. icon arts

    I think, that you are not right. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.

    P.S. Please review Logout Icon from jpeger

    September 17, 2012 at 4:34 pm | Reply
  3. icons

    You are not right. I can defend the position.

    P.S. Please review Free Large Twitter Icons from designesticons

    September 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm | Reply
  4. river isles punggol

    I'll immediately take hold of your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you've any? Kindly allow me recognise so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    May 17, 2012 at 2:54 am | Reply
  5. FoxHunter

    i had a dream...

    February 17, 2012 at 9:48 pm | Reply
  6. fiorellaharris

    saw the building in manhattan amazing...

    February 13, 2012 at 4:59 pm | Reply
  7. MarcSK

    Ever heard of Mirror's Edge? I the architecture to be something like that.

    February 3, 2012 at 7:46 am | Reply
  8. sandra vanderwood

    Cant seem to get this video to play. No sound, no picture. Help. I want to share it with someone.

    January 31, 2012 at 10:50 pm | Reply
  9. INTP

    Where can I watch the whole video?

    January 24, 2012 at 11:02 pm | Reply
    • time-trader

      You can look up his speech on TED.

      February 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm | Reply
  10. tin nyo

    Bjarke Ingels' designs and his philosophy of design is the kind that this futuristic world needs. Hopefully, he will find the best Engineers who will complement him and make his designs come to LIFE and the savvy Developers with a lot of $$$ to promote his wonderful well conceived, comprehensive designs to get BUILT. Most of all I commend him for THINKING BIG and DOING BIG. This is the best work I have seen since Leonardo Da Vinci's work. As an Engineer who has to work with several Architects, I admire Bjarke Ingel's Philosophy of Design......Congratulations.....Tin

    January 23, 2012 at 12:24 pm | Reply
    • Rudy

      Hi! This web site is rllaey a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn?t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you?ll definitely discover it.

      February 19, 2012 at 12:35 pm | Reply
  11. apennyrich

    He starts his interview with his definition of architecture...how inspiring! I'm trying to find the whole quote right now. I've always approached a living space by "here's the space...how do I fit my life in it" yet he observes how we as a community live, and then creates the space. I loved it!

    January 22, 2012 at 2:38 pm | Reply
  12. Sandra

    I really enjoyed this episode. Very interesting and educational. Something that is really getting hard to find on television any more.

    January 22, 2012 at 2:36 pm | Reply
    • Dayana

      Thanks for sirahng very important matter. It?s so much helpful for me because I don?t know about this before. I?m also watch video so now I clear fully. Thanks again Jason

      February 22, 2012 at 12:07 am | Reply
  13. Barbara

    If I'm not mistaken, you just advertised "the next list" program on this architect by calling him an archaeologist. Just a heads up, that's a very different career. I'm an archaeologist, and trust me, you don't want me designing buildings.

    January 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm | Reply
  14. O. Mallari

    Saw his talk at the BODW 2012. This man is amazing!

    January 18, 2012 at 12:53 pm | Reply
  15. S. Rainier

    Bjarke Ingels is a true visionary. The designs are 21st century and beyond. I wish he would design a transportation vehicle to replace cars because I never thought we would still be driving on the ground in the year 2000, yet we are. What is most interesting to me is that his architecture integrates all aspects of the surroundings as well. It is urban planning at a very high level. I love this architect!

    January 18, 2012 at 12:44 pm | Reply
    • Arenas

      Rainier keep dreaming.. :).. I love Big for the passion they invest into each concept, but at the end a lot of their projects are just like false diamonds, shinny outside, invaluable inside.. the architecture they do is simply not intelligent, instead of concentrating on using in a clever way the resources, they create lot of low quality spaces, unaffordable surfaces.. form, less function. but I will always enjoy watching each new story 🙂

      January 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm | Reply
      • austinlonghorns

        which projects exactly leave you with a feeling of "low quality spaces"? . . . which of his buildings have you experienced yourself?

        January 22, 2012 at 3:04 pm |
      • Fernando

        Firstly, CNN is ncooen-sponsored to begin with.Secondly, I guess these networks just operate under the quaint idea that those evil liberals and "surrender monkeys" are actually American citizens as well, and have a right to ask a question of a Republican candidate.They probably haven't gotten the memo that you haven't shoved all those pesky lefties into the ovens yet, and there are a few patriots actually on the loose.

        February 20, 2012 at 1:57 am |

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.