Programming an 'operating system' for cells
November 18th, 2011
04:10 PM ET

Programming an 'operating system' for cells

By Lara Farrar, CNN

No doubt, it is difficult to design operating systems for computers that simultaneously run numerous applications, while managing interactions between multiple types of hardware and responding to a multitude of commands from users.

Now imagine trying to design a similar operating system not for a laptop, a PC or even a smartphone, but rather for something much, much tinier - a living biological cell.

This is exactly what a group of scientists at the University of Nottingham, in England, will attempt to do as part of a five-year, $1.58 million research project that has been aptly named AudACiOus - which, according to researchers is derived from "towArds a Universal BiologicAl-Cell Operating System" with an extraneous "D" and "U" thrown in.

Read the full story on CNN.com

Post by:
Filed under: Innovation • Science • Tech
soundoff (4 Responses)
  1. how to print display screen on a mac

    Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you ever been blogging for? you made running a blog look easy. The whole glance of your site is fantastic, as well as the content material!

    May 4, 2012 at 7:49 pm | Reply
  2. DETERMINING DIRECTIONAL CELL COMMANDS

    I COULD UNDERSTAND THIS IF A CELL IN THE NEUROLOGICAL SYSTEM CONTROLLED THE OUTCOME THAT WOULD BENEFIT WHAT THE HUMAN CELL IS ACTUALLY SUPPOSED TO DO WHEN THE PHYSICAL SENSE WONT ALLOCTE IT TO DO SO!

    November 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm | Reply
    • Alia

      Pretty good post. I just sbmtuled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

      February 22, 2012 at 3:23 am | Reply
      • Marco

        I wish more people got this, Jim. Social media prtofalms have made it too easy to share indiscriminately, to pass things on without taking a few moments to illuminate WHY we thought it worth sharing. It's just too darned easy to like or RT.And that is one of the reasons I left Triberr. It was auto-tweeting for me and people kept joining the tribe, people I didn't know, and there I was recommending their stuff. It was out of control and I really felt I needed to read their stuff first before I retweeted it. So yes, for me it is also credibility and reputation management. And I wanted to articulate why I was passing it on, rather than it being robotic. Very useful post here.

        August 20, 2012 at 12:28 am |

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.